Ashhurst Mtg

Ashhurst Mtg is a small group which gathers weekly to play Magic the Gathering
 
HomeFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Tough rules question

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Kevin Davies
Mtg Maestro
Mtg Maestro


Posts : 54
Join date : 2008-10-02

PostSubject: Tough rules question   Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:12 am

Here's a tricky one.

Multiplayer game, let's say five players. People are playing creature decks (except Chris, who is playing a burn or anti-land deck), so lots of creatures out including several with flying.

Player A plays 'Hurricane' for 5 damage to all players and creatures with flying. In response Player B plays 'Hallow' (prevent all damage target spell would cause, ggain that much life) and then in response Player D plays 'Hallow' too.

What happens? study
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rincewind
Forum Wizzard
Forum Wizzard


Posts : 993
Join date : 2008-05-16
Age : 25
Location : Unseen University, Ankh-Morpork

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Sat Apr 25, 2009 7:03 am

Player D's Hallow prevents the damage hurricane would cause, gaining player D a ton of life. Player B's Hallow then resolves, but all of Hurricane's damage is already prevented, so Player B gains no life. Player A runs around swearing and Player C wonders what the hell is going on.

Player A: Hurricane does nothing.
Player B: Gains no life...
Player C: Sleep
Player D: Gains a LOT of life.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ashhurstmtg.rpgwars.org
Chris
Flushing Meadows.


Posts : 1198
Join date : 2008-05-18
Location : The Valley

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:06 am

Personally if it was me I'd save Hallow for the next turn and play it one of your infinite combos and not just gain a whole heap of life, but infinite life.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://iwant2.servebeer.com
Akuri_Mitsu
Santa's favourite recipient
Santa's favourite recipient


Posts : 1012
Join date : 2008-05-19
Age : 23
Location : AT MY HOME :D:D:D

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:39 pm

lol
i think id just be player 3
Sleep
yep looks like me alright

_________________
Foxteh will destroy us all!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dohyden
Professional Slacker
Professional Slacker


Posts : 726
Join date : 2008-05-29
Age : 23

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Mon Apr 27, 2009 11:36 am

lol! nice one william.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rincewind
Forum Wizzard
Forum Wizzard


Posts : 993
Join date : 2008-05-16
Age : 25
Location : Unseen University, Ankh-Morpork

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Mon Apr 27, 2009 9:10 pm

Nope, I got it wrong tongue
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ashhurstmtg.rpgwars.org
Akuri_Mitsu
Santa's favourite recipient
Santa's favourite recipient


Posts : 1012
Join date : 2008-05-19
Age : 23
Location : AT MY HOME :D:D:D

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Tue Apr 28, 2009 2:04 am

no u didnt u got it right
even to the last Sleep

_________________
Foxteh will destroy us all!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dohyden
Professional Slacker
Professional Slacker


Posts : 726
Join date : 2008-05-29
Age : 23

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:25 am

i think William is right, the spell does no damage and the one played in response gains the life for that person,
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Chris
Flushing Meadows.


Posts : 1198
Join date : 2008-05-18
Location : The Valley

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Tue Apr 28, 2009 7:32 am

Apparently santa did get it wrong though I cant say I completely understood the logic behind study interpretation....(?)
geek
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://iwant2.servebeer.com
Rincewind
Forum Wizzard
Forum Wizzard


Posts : 993
Join date : 2008-05-16
Age : 25
Location : Unseen University, Ankh-Morpork

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:35 am

I was right about the spell dealing no damage, but I was wrong on who gains the life.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ashhurstmtg.rpgwars.org
Akuri_Mitsu
Santa's favourite recipient
Santa's favourite recipient


Posts : 1012
Join date : 2008-05-19
Age : 23
Location : AT MY HOME :D:D:D

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:31 pm

lol
zoom
over my head

_________________
Foxteh will destroy us all!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Chris
Flushing Meadows.


Posts : 1198
Join date : 2008-05-18
Location : The Valley

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:35 am

Yep that was the easy part, but as to who gains life and how much, that seemed pretty arbitrary and not too logical???

Did you santa see the sense of it?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://iwant2.servebeer.com
Rincewind
Forum Wizzard
Forum Wizzard


Posts : 993
Join date : 2008-05-16
Age : 25
Location : Unseen University, Ankh-Morpork

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Thu Apr 30, 2009 8:08 am

Considering that the spell deals no damage until it resolves, it makes sense.
The correct way to do it does seem arbitrary, but since the spell doesn't deal damage until it resolves (at which point both hallows have gone off) both players should gain life.

Although I would have thought that if both players gained life, they'd both gain the same amount of life (for instance, they each gain 1 life for each point of damage prevented) instead of the correct way, which seems very unusual.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ashhurstmtg.rpgwars.org
Chris
Flushing Meadows.


Posts : 1198
Join date : 2008-05-18
Location : The Valley

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Fri May 01, 2009 11:56 pm

Am I correct in assuming that you can't play an instant in response to someone tapping a land for mana i.e. tapping doesn;t go on the stack?
geek
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://iwant2.servebeer.com
Akuri_Mitsu
Santa's favourite recipient
Santa's favourite recipient


Posts : 1012
Join date : 2008-05-19
Age : 23
Location : AT MY HOME :D:D:D

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Tue May 05, 2009 2:08 am

you can play an instant any time
thats y its an instant

_________________
Foxteh will destroy us all!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rincewind
Forum Wizzard
Forum Wizzard


Posts : 993
Join date : 2008-05-16
Age : 25
Location : Unseen University, Ankh-Morpork

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Tue May 05, 2009 11:48 pm

Mana abilities don't go on the stack, and cannot be responded to. This includes, but is not limited to, lands, llanowar elves, and signets.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ashhurstmtg.rpgwars.org
Chris
Flushing Meadows.


Posts : 1198
Join date : 2008-05-18
Location : The Valley

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Wed May 06, 2009 5:53 am

so for example; you cant play an instant in response forcing an opponent to tap all lands (when he taps one land).

You'd have to play it in advance....
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://iwant2.servebeer.com
Rincewind
Forum Wizzard
Forum Wizzard


Posts : 993
Join date : 2008-05-16
Age : 25
Location : Unseen University, Ankh-Morpork

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Wed May 06, 2009 6:08 am

Play it during your opponents upkeep, after they untap but before they draw.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ashhurstmtg.rpgwars.org
Chris
Flushing Meadows.


Posts : 1198
Join date : 2008-05-18
Location : The Valley

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Wed May 06, 2009 7:21 am

The trick was trying to make your opponent tap all their lands during your turn, with "Price of Glory" in play.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://iwant2.servebeer.com
The Eye
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac


Posts : 1445
Join date : 2008-05-17
Age : 23
Location : Salami Producers Catering Association

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Fri May 08, 2009 4:32 am

I agree with WWW...

_________________
In democracy, it's your vote that counts. In feudalism, it's your count that votes.
afro
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Chris
Flushing Meadows.


Posts : 1198
Join date : 2008-05-18
Location : The Valley

PostSubject: Gifts Given   Sun May 10, 2009 3:58 am

Was it just my impression or did study separate the 4 cards into 2 piles and made alien choose 1 pile ? My interpretation of the rules would be that alien could have chosen any 2 cards....i.e.

Quote :
Gifts Given 3u
Instant
Search target opponent's library for four cards with different names and reveal them. That opponent chooses two of those cards. Put the chosen cards into their graveyard and the rest into your hand. That player shuffles his or her library after wards.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://iwant2.servebeer.com
Akuri_Mitsu
Santa's favourite recipient
Santa's favourite recipient


Posts : 1012
Join date : 2008-05-19
Age : 23
Location : AT MY HOME :D:D:D

PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Wed May 13, 2009 10:34 pm

dude
i lost cards either way Sad

_________________
Foxteh will destroy us all!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Tough rules question   Today at 3:01 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Tough rules question
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Rules Question - Restless Dead "Reanimation"
» Gundam contest rules?
» Question About Gladiator beasts.
» Dark Fusion / Mirror Force question
» Maximum Warband Size - House Rules

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Ashhurst Mtg :: General Mtg Discussion :: Mtg Rules Discussion-
Jump to: