Ashhurst Mtg

Ashhurst Mtg is a small group which gathers weekly to play Magic the Gathering
 
HomeFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 All Things Aura

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
The Eye
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac


Posts : 1445
Join date : 2008-05-17
Age : 23
Location : Salami Producers Catering Association

PostSubject: All Things Aura   Mon Apr 19, 2010 5:37 am

1.) SHROUD DOES NOT REMOVE AURAS
Referring to Alexi's Cloak, a shroud-giving aura:

Quote :
Official Card Rulings (Current as of 1/16/2004)

* Any enchantments already on the creature remain. [DeLaney 2000/05/29]

This has not changed since.

2.) DOUBLE WARD (UNRESOLVED)
The scenario is this, for anyone who doesn't know already:
A creature has two Pentarch Wards on it, one of which is chosen for white. Does the nonwhite ward fall off?

_________________
In democracy, it's your vote that counts. In feudalism, it's your count that votes.
afro
Back to top Go down
View user profile
The Eye
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac


Posts : 1445
Join date : 2008-05-17
Age : 23
Location : Salami Producers Catering Association

PostSubject: Re: All Things Aura   Mon Apr 19, 2010 5:43 am

I maintain that the second ward falls off. This is my reasoning:
Quote :
This effect does not remove Pentarch Ward.

This only protects the ward that gave white in the first place. If both were to be protected, it would be worded like this:

Quote :
This effect does not remove Auras named Pentarch Ward.

Compare to these:
Black Mana : Looming Shade gets +1/+1 until end of turn.

White Mana Red Mana Green Mana : Cylian Sunsinger and each other creature with the same name as it get +3/+3 until end of turn.

Although cards may have identical traits eg. name, they will still be unique. In Pentarch Ward's case, they all have an identical ability, but they are separate on every card. In this sense, each ward will only protect it from its own ability, as they are 'different' on every card. Alternately, the 'Pentarch Ward' part of the rules text only refers to itself; otherwise it would state "cards named Pentarch Ward".

_________________
In democracy, it's your vote that counts. In feudalism, it's your count that votes.
afro
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
All Things Aura
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Things to Do Besides Eat:
» Good things can happen when you're taking out the garbage.
» Your Five Favorite Things!?
» Anyone goood with making things from fiberglass?
» Weird Things

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Ashhurst Mtg :: General Mtg Discussion :: Mtg Rules Discussion-
Jump to: