Ashhurst Mtg

Ashhurst Mtg is a small group which gathers weekly to play Magic the Gathering
 
HomeFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Important rules that we've missed in the past

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
The Eye
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
avatar

Posts : 1445
Join date : 2008-05-17
Age : 23
Location : Salami Producers Catering Association

PostSubject: Re: Important rules that we've missed in the past   Wed Sep 22, 2010 6:30 am

If an effect says that a player can’t gain life, that player can’t exchange life totals with a player who has a higher life total; in that case, the exchange won’t happen. In addition, a cost that involves having that player gain life can’t be paid, and a replacement effect that would replace a life gain event affecting that player won’t do anything.

_________________
In democracy, it's your vote that counts. In feudalism, it's your count that votes.
afro
Back to top Go down
View user profile
The Eye
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
avatar

Posts : 1445
Join date : 2008-05-17
Age : 23
Location : Salami Producers Catering Association

PostSubject: Re: Important rules that we've missed in the past   Wed Sep 22, 2010 6:57 am

If an effect changes a land’s subtype to one or more of the basic land types, the land no longer has its old land type. It loses all abilities generated from its rules text and its old land types, and it gains the appropriate mana ability for each new basic land type.
If a land gains one or more land types in addition to its own, it keeps its land types and rules text, and it gains the new land types and mana abilities.

SO, turning a nonbasic land into a, say, Island in addition to its other types only 'kills' it if it didn't have any other types (dual lands, shocklands, Murmuring Bosk).


If an effect reads “All lands are creatures” and a land card is played, the effect makes the land card into a creature the moment it enters the battlefield, so it would trigger abilities that trigger when a creature enters the battlefield. Conversely, if an effect reads “All creatures lose all abilities” and a creature card with an enters-the- battlefield triggered ability enters the battlefield, that effect will cause it to lose its abilities the moment it enters the battlefield, so the enters-the-battlefield ability won’t trigger .

_________________
In democracy, it's your vote that counts. In feudalism, it's your count that votes.
afro
Back to top Go down
View user profile
The Eye
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
avatar

Posts : 1445
Join date : 2008-05-17
Age : 23
Location : Salami Producers Catering Association

PostSubject: Re: Important rules that we've missed in the past   Fri Sep 24, 2010 7:27 am

A copy of a modal spell or ability copies the mode(s) chosen for it. The controller of the copy can’t choose a different mode.

If an effect tries to attach an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification to the object it’s already attached to, the effect does nothing.
BUT
Attaching an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification on the battlefield to a different object causes the Aura, Equipment, or Fortification to receive a new timestamp.

When life totals are exchanged, each player gains or loses the amount of life necessary to equal the other player’s previous life total.

If a player is searching a hidden zone for cards with a stated quality, such as a card with a certain card type or color, that player isn’t required to find some or all of those cards even if they’re present in that zone.

This means that:
If you play Cranial Extraction on somebody, you have to get the ones in their graveyard, but if you miss any in their hand and library, unless they're plying with them revealed somehow, too bad.

_________________
In democracy, it's your vote that counts. In feudalism, it's your count that votes.
afro
Back to top Go down
View user profile
The Eye
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
avatar

Posts : 1445
Join date : 2008-05-17
Age : 23
Location : Salami Producers Catering Association

PostSubject: Re: Important rules that we've missed in the past   Fri Sep 24, 2010 8:07 am

The deathtouch rules function no matter what zone an object with deathtouch deals damage from.
The lifelink rules function no matter what zone an object with lifelink deals damage from.
Interesting, I'm sure that will come in handy one day...

If a player is allowed to choose any landwalk ability, that player chooses a landwalk ability that includes one land subtype and/or one supertype. The chosen ability doesn’t need to have been printed on a card.
This means you can choose Snow Landwalk or Legendary Landwalk (or Basic Landwalk Suspect )


_________________
In democracy, it's your vote that counts. In feudalism, it's your count that votes.
afro
Back to top Go down
View user profile
The Eye
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
avatar

Posts : 1445
Join date : 2008-05-17
Age : 23
Location : Salami Producers Catering Association

PostSubject: Re: Important rules that we've missed in the past   Fri Sep 24, 2010 8:13 am

An effect that performs a positive comparison (such as asking if a card is red) or a relative comparison (such as asking if a card’s converted mana cost is less than 2) involving characteristics of one or more split cards in any zone other than the stack gets only one answer. This answer is “yes” if either side of each split card in the comparison would return a “yes” answer if compared individually.
No Isochron/R&D for you...
If an effect performs a comparison involving multiple characteristics of one or more split cards in any zone other than the stack, each characteristic is compared separately. If each of the individual comparisons would return a “yes” answer, the whole comparison returns a “yes” answer.
Or maybe yes. What!? Help!

The player whose turn is being controlled still chooses whether he or she leaves to visit the restroom, trades a card to someone else, takes an intentional draw, or calls a judge about an error or infraction.
Aw.

There's also an interesting bit here about Time Stop - it not only fizzles, but Exiles all spells!
Exile every object on the stack, including the object that’s resolving. Remove all creatures and planeswalkers (including those that are phased out) from combat. All objects not on the battlefield that aren’t represented by cards will cease to exist the next time state-based actions are checked (see rule 704, “State-Based Actions”).

_________________
In democracy, it's your vote that counts. In feudalism, it's your count that votes.
afro
Back to top Go down
View user profile
The Eye
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
avatar

Posts : 1445
Join date : 2008-05-17
Age : 23
Location : Salami Producers Catering Association

PostSubject: Re: Important rules that we've missed in the past   Fri Sep 24, 2010 8:27 am

Sometimes a loop can be fragmented, meaning that each player involved in the loop performs an independent action that results in the same game state being reached multiple times. If that happens, the active player (or, if the active player is not involved in the loop, the first player in turn order who is involved) must then make a different game choice so the loop does not continue.
Example: In a two-player game, the active player controls a creature with the ability “{0}: [This creature] gains flying,” the nonactive player controls a permanent with the ability “{0}: Target creature loses flying,” and nothing in the game cares how many times an ability has been activated. Say the active player activates his creature’s ability, it resolves, then the nonactive player activates her permanent’s ability targeting that creature, and it resolves. This returns the game to a game state it was at before. The active player must make a different game choice (in other words, anything other than activating that creature’s ability again). The creature doesn’t have flying. Note that the nonactive player could have prevented the fragmented loop simply by not activating her permanent’s ability, in which case the creature would have had flying. The nonactive player always has the final choice and is therefore able to determine whether the creature has flying.

Emperor Deploy Rule:
Each creature has the ability “Tap Symbol: Target teammate gains control of this creature. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.”

2HG:
If an effect of an object controlled by a defending player prohibits a creature from attacking him or her, that creature can’t attack the defending team.
Any characteristic-defining ability that refers to the “defending player” refers to one specific defending player, not to both of the defending players. The controller of the object with the characteristic-defining ability chooses which one the ability refers to at the time the nonactive players become defending players.
All other cases in which the “defending player” is referred to actually refer to both defending players.
If an effect needs to know the value of an individual player’s life total, that effect uses the team’s life total divided by two, rounded up, instead.
If an effect would set a single player’s life total to a number, that player’s individual life total becomes that number.
The team’s life total is adjusted by the amount of life that player gained or lost. If an effect would set the life total of each player on a team to a number, the result is the sum of all the numbers.

_________________
In democracy, it's your vote that counts. In feudalism, it's your count that votes.
afro
Back to top Go down
View user profile
The Eye
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
Maximum Madness / Foil Grabbing Maniac
avatar

Posts : 1445
Join date : 2008-05-17
Age : 23
Location : Salami Producers Catering Association

PostSubject: Re: Important rules that we've missed in the past   Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:03 pm

If you control a Ghostly Prison, players don't have to pay the extra mana to attack your planeswalkers.

_________________
In democracy, it's your vote that counts. In feudalism, it's your count that votes.
afro
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Important rules that we've missed in the past   

Back to top Go down
 
Important rules that we've missed in the past
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2
 Similar topics
-
» Maximum Warband Size - House Rules
» Cursed hillman HS rules
» Rules for mounts and riding
» Changing the Rules? Yes or No?
» "The Victorian Affair"- Rules and Regulations.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Ashhurst Mtg :: General Mtg Discussion :: Mtg Rules Discussion-
Jump to: